This recipe is as easy to make, as it is delicious! I came up with it when I was craving filled pasta, but didn’t  want anything as filling as my Vareniki. In addition, I was in a mood to experiment a bit. So I really just threw together what I could find in my kitchen and this goodness happened!

For the dough you can just check my Vareniki recipe, it is the same : )

These are the ingredients you will need for the filling (I was cooking for two):


1 zucchini

1 cup of red lentils

2 tbs of grated parmesan cheese

1 Egg

Salt, Pepper


Chop your Zucchini and put it into a small pot. Fill up with just enough water to cover them and after it starts boiling, add your lentils. Now you should let it simmer until the lentils are cooked; most of the water should be gone by now.

To mash everything up I used a hand blender. Once it has a nice and smooth consistency, add your parmesan and mix it in well.

Whisk your egg in a small bowl and then add it to your filling, mixing it well until combined. If your filling seems to runny you can add some flour to thicken it.

IMG-20170502-WA0015-01

Finally, add some salt and pepper to taste and your filling is ready to meet it’s better half! : ) If you´re not sure how to “assemble” the tortellini, just head over to my Vareniki recipe, it´s really easy!

DSC_0560

You can, of course, modify this recipe to your taste! I am sure it would taste great with sweet potatoes or pumpkin instead of zucchini! Just use what you´re in the mood for and what you like, and don’t be afraid to try crazy combinations, you might be surprised how great some of them taste ; )

I matched this tortellini with red cabbage, cut into very thin pieces and fried slightly in a hot pan (with just a tiny bit of oil) with red onions. I seasoned it with a bit of garam masala and added a bit (or a bit more) of port at the end to round it off ; )

DSC_0563

I hope you enjoy trying this recipe! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

